You are here

E-Filing for Non-Attorney Filers

E-Filing for Non-Attorney Filers

"Non-Attorney Filer" is a user that has limited filing privileges, such as auditor, court reporter, creditor, filing agent, trustee, or U.S. Trustees. When registering for a non-attorney filer account, the applicant will specify role in court.

E-Filing for Limited Creditor Filers

  • Filers not admitted to practice in the Southern District of Alabama may obtain limited access to file certain creditor-related documents.
  • Only a very limited number of documents may be submitted.
  • Provides immediate confirmation to you, and notice to other parties in a case, that a document was filed.

If you do not have a PACER account, you must first apply for one.  To register for a PACER account, click here: https://pacer.psc.uscourts.gov/pscof/regWizard.jsf

After a PACER account has been established, the applicant may request, through PACER, permission to file electronically in this Court. To register for limited creditor electronic filing privileges in the Alabama Southern Bankruptcy Court, go to www.pacer.gov, click on Manage My Account, go to the Maintenance tab, and click on Non-Attorney E-File Registration.

Filing a Proofs of Claim On-line

Creditors may file Proofs of Claim forms for all chapter electronically.  A NextGen Creditor Filer account is not needed. The claims electronic filing program (ePOC) does not require a login and password.  The program contains a fillable Proof of Claim Form (Form 410).  Click here to E-File Proofs of Claim.

Penalty for filing fraudulent claim: Fine of up to $500,000 or imprisonment for up to 5 years, or both. 18 U.S.C. §§ 152 and 3571.

Financial Management Course Providers

The Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Alabama permits approved personal financial management course providers to file the Certificate of Debtor Education under Rule 1007(b)(7), electronically using the electronic financial management course certificate filing program (eFinCert) instead of requiring course providers to register as a limited creditor filer in the court’s NextGen CM/ECF system.

Pursuant to Federal Rule of Bankruptcy Procedure 1007(c), the debtor must file a certification that he/she completed the personal financial management course within 60 days after the first date set for the meeting of creditors under § 341 of the Code in a chapter 7 case, and in a chapter 11 or 13 case no later than the date when the last payment was made by the debtor as required by the plan or the filing of a motion for discharge under § 1141(d)(5)(B) or § 1328(b) of the Code.  Failure by the provider to timely file the certificate in accordance with Fed. R. Bankr. P. 1007(c), may result in the debtor’s case being closed without a discharge.  See Fed. R. Bankr. P. 4004(c)(1)(H).

Use of this electronic filing program (eFinCert) constitutes certification that the filer is an approved provider of a personal financial management instructional course.

File Personal Financial Management Course Certificate (eFinCert)

Penalty for filing fraudulent certification:  Fine of up to $500,000 or imprisonment for up to 5 years, or both.  18 U.S.C. $$ 152 and 3571.

Bankruptcy Noticing Center (formerly National Creditor Registration Service (NCRS)

  • The Bankruptcy Noticing Center  allows you to sign up to receive all of your bankruptcy notices electronically through the National Creditor Registration Service (NCRS) or consolidate all U.S. Postal Service notices at one address.  This is a free service provided by the U.S. Bankruptcy Courts to give recipients more convenient delivery options for their bankruptcy notices.  You can have notices delivered either:
    1. Electronically - Faster, more reliable and convenient
    2. To a designated mail address - Redirects U.S. Mail delivery to a preferred address