Admission for Pro Hac Vice
November 27, 2019
ALSB Local Bankruptcy Rule 9029-1 provides:
Admission to practice before the bar of the U.S. District Court of the Southern District of Alabama shall constitute admission to practice before this court. Members of the bar of this court shall comply with the requirements of Southern District of Alabama Local Rule 83.3, and that rule is incorporated by reference.
Please also see Administrative Order 2019-11.
These instructions explain the process for attorneys not admitted to practice in the United States District Court.
A non-resident attorney who is not an active member in good standing of the State Bar of Alabama, but who is a member in good standing of the Bar of any United States Court, or the highest court of any State may apply in writing for permission to appear Pro Hac Vice.
Electronic submission of documents is mandatory for attorneys in the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Alabama. If the attorney is not registered for e-filing in the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Alabama, they must first fill out an Attorney Admissions and/or E-File Registration request at the PACER website. When registering for the Attorney login with PACER and prompted for what type of account to Apply/Register for ( "E-File Registration Only", "Pro Hac Vice", or "Federal Attorney") select Pro Hac Vice. For more information on E-Filing for Attorneys and for links to register with PACER, please see our page at E-Filing for Attorneys
- Prepare a Motion and Application for Admission to Appear Pro Hac Vice. The motion and application must be electronically filed in the case in which the attorney is seeking Pro Hac Vice admission. A $75.00 admission fee will be charged with the filing of the motion. Information provided in the application is subject to verification by court personnel.
- A Certificate of Good Standing dated within 30 days of the application for admission, is required to be submitted with the Motion and Application for Admission to Appear Pro Hac Vice. The Certificate of Good Standing must be from the Clerk of the United States District Court in which the applicant resides or regularly practices law, or the highest Court of any State or the District of Columbia, or if the attorney is not admitted to practice in such a court, the highest Court of the State (or District of Columbia) where the attorney resides or regularly practice law.
- Login to CM/ECF. File the motion and application you prepared, using the event Appear Pro Hac Vice (Motion). Important: Upload the motion and application as the main document and the Certification of Good Standing as an attachment to the motion. You will be required to pay a $75.00 admission fee.
- Order on Motion: Prepare and submit a proposed order, complying with the requirements for Submitting Proposed Orders.
What Happens Next
If the court grants the motion, the attorney can then file electronically to that specific case.
For More Help
Please contact the clerk's office for assistance at 251-441-5391. The help desk hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.